WSBK Phillip Island, Round 1: Double podium for Ducati

The Racing - Ducati Team made a double podium with Marco Melandri as winner and Chaz Davies at the third place at the first WSBK-Race this season in Australia. After a long double lead of Kawasaki with Tom Sykes leading followed by Jonathan Rae. In the 14th Round Marco Melandri could pass Jonathan Rae and could finally went into lead in the 18th round, four round before end.

Chaz Davies made it from the sixth to the third place. He passed Jonathan Rae, who had struggles with the rear tire, two rounds before the end.

Marco Melandri ( Racing - Ducati #33) – 1st place
"It's really unbelievable and i missed it to win here. It's special for me. To win the first race is unbelievable. After a year experience with the Ducati i know my strengths and my weaknesses. I worked hard to get better. The race was amazing, but the other drivers will be stronger tomorrow. Tom was really fast at the beginning and it wasn't easy."

Chaz Davies ( Racing - Ducati #7) – 3rd place
"At the start i though, i have to take time to treat the tires with care. The pace was much faster than in typical Phillip-Island-races. Tom was unbelievable in the first round, so it was up to the other drivers to catch him. It was really a different race. I'm happy that i got on the podium. Of course i had luck because of Johnnies bad luck. I struggled with the left side. In left turns i was really slow and i don't know why. I had also a lot of movement in the bike at acceleration."

133Marco Racing-Ducati Superbike TeamDucati33:40.35422
266Tom SykesKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki33:41.534+ 1.18022
37Chaz Racing-Ducati Superbike TeamDucati33:49.619+ 9.26522
412Javier ForesBarni Racing TeamDucati33:50.175+ 9.82122
51Jonathan ReaKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki33:54.250+ 13.89622
622Alex LowesPata Yamaha Official WSBK TeamYamaha33:57.382+ 17.02822
72Leon CamierRed Bull Honda World Superbike TeamHonda34:01.868+ 21.51422
850Eugene LavertyMilwaukee ApriliaAprilia34:04.016+ 23.66222
960Michael van der MarkPata Yamaha Official WSBK TeamYamaha34:07.784+ 27.43022
1036Leandro MercadoOrelac Racing VerdNaturaKawasaki34:07.800+ 27.44622
1176Loris BazGulf Althea BMW Racing TeamBMW34:08.102+ 27.74822
1245Jake GagneRed Bull Honda World Superbike TeamHonda34:08.820+ 28.46622
1354Toprak RazgatliogluKawasaki Puccetti RacingKawasaki34:10.354+ 30.00022
1440Román RamosTeam GO ElevenKawasaki34:33.973+ 53.61922
1537Ondrej JezekGuandalini RacingYamaha34:43.036+ 1:02.68222
1699PJ JacobsenTriple M Honda World Superbike TeamHonda34:50.129+ 1:09.77522


Latest articles on

« Back